Wheelchair basketball team wins national title

Senior Nate Hinze helped the men's wheelchair basketball team win its second national championship in three years. The Warhawks defeated the University of Illinois in the title game.

They got their revenge.

And as a result, they got another national championship.

One year after falling to the University of Illinois in the National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament, the UW-Whitewater men’s wheelchair basketball team dethroned the Fighting Illini, 66-54, Saturday in the title game at the University of Texas-Arlington.

This is Warhawks’ second title in three years.

Junior Chris Okon led a balanced attack with 22 points, while senior Allon Dor-Onn added 20, senior Nate Hinze contributed 12 and junior Andre Bienek chipped in with 10.

The last three championship games have featured UW-Whitewater and the Fighting Illini.

While the Illini were the defending national champions, the ‘Hawks entered this year’s tournament having defeated the Illini five times this season, boasted a 21-1 record and were the No. 1 seed in the bracket.

UW-Whitewater demolished the University of Alabama in the semifinals, 68-40, one day earlier behind the hot shooting of Hinze (30 points). Bienek and Okon each added 10 points.

While the men will bring home a national championship, the women’s wheelchair basketball team fell just short of capturing a title of its own.

One day after pounding the University of Illinois, 58-39, the ‘Hawks were edged by the University of Alabama, 58-56, in the championship game Saturday.

Sophomore Mareike Adermann, who averaged 14.2 points per game during the regular season, paced the ‘Hawks with 21 points in the title game.

Junior Desiree Miller finished with 18 points, while sophomore Becca Murray, who led Dan Price’s squad with 19.8 points per game during the regular season, added 11 against the Crimson Tide.

The ‘Hawks, in its third year of existence, finished the season 15-4.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email