Founded 1901

Royal Purple

Founded 1901

Royal Purple

Founded 1901

Royal Purple

The Warhawks kept the Miner’s Axe again this season, beating UW-Platteville to earn the ceremonial trophy.

Warhawk Football looks forward after coming up short in 2019 Stagg Bowl

Carter Secor, Assistant Sports Editor February 17, 2020

As the clock hit 0:00 in Shenandoah, Texas and the North Central College Cardinals rushed onto the field celebrating their first ever Stagg Bowl win, the UW-Whitewater Warhawks National Championship hopes...

top five, Beverly Kopper, Kimberly Wethal

It’s a wrap: The Royal Purple’s top five stories

May 3, 2016

By Kimberly Wethal May 4, 2016   Collectively, the Royal Purple’s staff of 17 editors and many more staff writers wrote about the good, the bad and the political news, penned editorials on...

Another year, another title

Another year, another title

January 21, 2015

Jan. 21, 2015 By Andrea Sidlauskas It was a familiar foe, at a familiar place, with familiar stakes. The Warhawks football team faced long-time rival, Mount Union University, for the ninth time in...

Football Column: Hawks leave no doubt, finish 15-0

Football Column: ‘Hawks leave no doubt, finish 15-0

January 22, 2014

Jan. 22, 2014   By Kevin Cunningham Finishing a season with a perfect record is one of the most difficult things a team can accomplish. This is true for any major sport, where the competition...

Football: Familiar foe, same result

Football: Familiar foe, same result

January 22, 2014

Jan. 22, 2014   By Andrea Sidlauskas Christmas came early for the Warhawks football team, as it celebrated its win in Stagg Bowl XLI on Dec. 20, 2013, to reclaim dominance in Division-III...

National champion Warhawks return to campus (Photo Gallery)

December 17, 2011
With the 'Hawks third straight Stagg Bowl victory over Mount Union, they extended their NCAA-leading consecutive win streak to 45 games. The team returned back to campus Saturday afternoon.

Warhawks win third straight Stagg Bowl

December 16, 2011
It wasn’t the game we all expected, but in the end, the No. 1 ranked Warhawk football team won its third straight NCAA Division-III National Title Friday night after defeating No. 2 Mount Union, 13-10.

Athletics at UW-Whitewater help promote academics

December 14, 2011

If you haven’t heard by now, the UW-Whitewater football team has been doing quite well. They are on a quest to win their third consecutive national championship as they travel to Salem, Va., for the...

Coppage stands tallest

May 11, 2011
It’s Game Day and Levell Coppage’s eyes are closed. He’s lying down and visualizing what will occur on the football field that day. He sees himself making hard cuts and breaking loose from defenders trying to take him down. He sees himself bursting through a gaping hole into the open field for a touchdown. “I’m a visual-type player,” Coppage said. “I like to picture things before I go out and do it.”

Donovan delivers in more than one way

May 12, 2010
Jeff Donovan earned WIAC player of the year honors while leading the football team to its fifth straight conference title and its second national championship in three years. Now, less than five months later, Donovan is at the helm of the baseball team’s WIAC championship and its own run to a national championship. For his efforts in both sports, the former Wauwatosa East High School star has been named the 2009-10 Royal Purple Male Athlete of the Year.

Questions for champs at quarterback, secondary as team begins spring practice

April 7, 2010
They received a standing ovation at a Wisconsin Badger basketball game. They have been recognized by the Whitewater Common Council. They even mingled and shared a few laughs with Gov. Jim Doyle at his mansion in Madison. It’s been quite the ride for the football team since defeating Mount Union College (Alliance, Ohio), 38-28, on Dec. 19 to win the program’s second national championship in three years. However, with the first of 15 spring practices beginning today, senior wide receiver Aaron Rusch already has his eye on the 2010 season.

2009 Football Individual Awards

January 20, 2010
Sports Editor Chris Kuhagen hands out his team MVP, Offensive MVP, Defensive MVP and Breakout Player of the Year for the 2009 national championship football team.
Load More Stories
Activate Search
Founded 1901
Stagg Bowl