Founded 1901

Royal Purple

Founded 1901

Royal Purple

Founded 1901

Royal Purple

UW-W Rock County election results

UW-W Rock County election results

Bleron Grajçevci, Campus Journalist April 28, 2024

After two days of voting, the Rock County campus has concluded its elections for student government for the upcoming academic year of 2024-2025. Rock County’s Student Government Association (SGA)...

A city of Whitewater citizen Jan Bilgen speaks up about a local issue in the community to the Common Council.

City updates and library planning on expansions

Evan Greissinger, Assistant Community Editor April 21, 2024

The city manager's report to the Common Council Tuesday, April 16 involved talks on completing erosion control inspections at six different construction sites, as well as the street crew clearing catch...


Spring Election Preview

Dauntae Green, Editor March 31, 2024

The City of Whitewater will hold its 2024 Spring Election this upcoming Tuesday, April 2, 2024 from 7 a.m.-8 p.m. for voting in the Whitewater Armory at 146 W. North Street. There will be voting for new...

League of Women Voters of Whitewater Area Social Media Coordinator Michelle Whisner

Q&A with League of Women Voters Michelle Whisner

Dauntae Green, Managing Editor February 27, 2022

The League of Women Voters is an organization of female leaders that’s mission is to strengthen the community through voting, the values of doing the right thing, working together with members of the...

From left, Greg Cook, interim chancellor of UW-Whitewater, Rahenya Anderson, a sociology major and president of the Black Student Union, and members of Whitewater Student Government affirm unity as Kenny Yarbrough, right, assistant vice chancellor of equity, diversity and inclusion, concludes his remarks. On behalf of BSU, Anderson presented Cook with a working list of actions to better the experiences of students of color on campus. The UW-Whitewater 2020 Unity Walk for Black Lives Matter culminated with a program at Perkins Stadium, where students and administrators spoke on the themes of unity and community, on Tuesday, Sept. 15, 2020. (UW-Whitewater photo/Craig Schreiner)

Voters’ choices swayed by students’ voices

Brooklyn Stevenson, Lifestylist Jornalist October 31, 2021

As a student at UW Whitewater, there are many different ways to be active in advocation for different policies and rights as elections are around the corner. Even if someone is not voting or are unable...

WSG presidential candidate Pasan Samaranayake, right, with running mate Marco Marquez.

Samaranayake, Marquez aim for WSG leadership

Benjamin Pierce, Assistant News Editor April 6, 2018

Pasan Samaranayake could be the next Whitewater Student Government (WSG) president. The junior economics major is running against incumbent candidate Tom Kind in the presidential election, which ends Friday,...

Current student body president Tom Kind, left, with his vice-presidential candidate Zoe Miller.

Kind and Miller run for head seats at WSG table

Benjamin Pierce, Assistant News Editor April 6, 2018

Tom Kind could be the fourth-ever Whitewater Student Government (WSG) president elected to a second consecutive term. The junior economics major is running against Pasan Samaranayake in the WSG presidential...

Jensen, Jordan win elections

April 4, 2012

Sophomores John Jensen and Danielle Jordan won the Whitewater Student Government presidential elections with 338 votes. The pair beat the second-place write-in combination of juniors Patrick...

Jensen, Jordan win student government presidential elections

March 22, 2012
John Jensen and Danielle Jordan win WSG presidential elections.

Online presidential voting begins next week

March 14, 2012
Presidential elections for Whitewater Student Government will be held online from March 20-21. In previous years, WSG elections were held using paper ballots that were available in the University Center.

VP Jensen announces run for presidency

February 15, 2012
Whitewater Student Government Vice President John Jensen announced he will run for WSG president in the spring at Monday night’s meeting.

Olsen cruises in only contested local race

April 6, 2011
In the only contested local race Tuesday, incumbent Jim Olsen was re-elected as the District 1 common council representative, defeating political newcomer Michael LeBlanc by a vote of 418-134. Olsen, 53, called the voter turnout “astronomical” and said he appreciated the support.
Load More Stories
Activate Search
Founded 1901